$10 cover

9pm showtime

Take That:


Take That is a newly formed jazz collective, featuring music composed by Joan Hutton and Sue Orfield.  

    Joan Hutton, bass clarinet/saxophones
    Sue Orfield, tenor saxophone
    Josh Gallagher, keys
    Kameron Markworth, bass
    David Schmalenberger, drums

Sue Orfield:

Tenor saxophonist Sue Orfield makes her home in the Chippewa Valley of Wisconsin, and plays with bands from all over Wisconsin and Minnesota, including The Jazz Women All Stars, AcoustiHoo,The Chippewa Valley Jazz Orchestra, Catya's Trio, Two Rivers, The Butanes, and many more. She tours internationally with several groups, including The Tiptons Sax Quartet & Drums (Seattle/NYC), Junkyard Jane (Seattle) and Ellen Whyte (Portland). Sue has played with many musical greats over the years, including Bo Diddley, Bobby McFerrin, The Indigo Girls, Ann Wilson (Heart), Dizzy Gillespie, Ivan Neville, Jo Dee Messina, among others. For more information about Sue, please visit www.sueorfield.com.

Joan Hutton:

Multi-reed player Joan Hutton is a Minneapolis-based educator, performer and composer, originally hailing from Toronto, Canada. Her varied musical interests have led her over the years to jazz, classical, funk, free improvisation, pit orchestras and more. She is a member of the Ancia Saxophone Quartet, one of the Midwest’s top classical chamber ensembles, which performs nationally and internationally and is featured frequently on National Public Radio’s “Performance Today.” In 2017 she formed the Joan Hutton Jazz Project to feature her own compositions, a group that now performs regularly around the Twin Cities and was featured at the 2019 Twin Cities Jazz Festival. For more information about Joan please visit www.joanhuttonjazz.com.