$10 advance / $15 at the door

11pm showtime


Savage Moods:


Minneapolis rock trio Savage Moods is releasing their 2nd full-length record, “Dark Matter”, Saturday, July 20, at Icehouse MPLS. They'll be joined by Minneapolis greats, 26 Bats and Elle PF.

“Dark Matter” follows Savage Moods’ debut record, “Death Ray” released in 2016. On “Death Ray”, the band committed to the 3-piece formula, forgoing layers of overdubs in favor the distinct sound of just 3 instruments and a voice. On “Dark Matter”, however, Savage Moods has added the studio as a 4th player. Mix engineer Eric Martin (Jillian Rae) and guest synthesizerist Doug Deitchler (Beasthead) add textures throughout the record, creating a rich sonic environment for Hovorka’s storytelling.The title “Dark Matter” refers to all that life offers us in between. People out of place, ways of life off the beaten path. Seeking the obscure knowledge and experience.

Ahead of “Dark Matter’s” release, the band is also releasing an EP single for the track “Wizard of Pain”. Wizard of Pain is the opening track of “Dark Matter”, but on the EP single it is accompanied by 3 tracks from the “Dark Matter” sessions that didn’t make the record. Cut for sequencing, the 3 b-sides of Wizard of Pain have every bit the bizarre, whimsical, dark energy of “Dark Matter”.

26 Bats:


genrefluid jazz-punk

Elle PF:


Orchestral rock and electronic production come to a head, birthing the cinematic sound of Minneapolis-based band Elle PF. Led by songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, & producer Ranelle LaBiche, Elle PF originates music that is both musically lush and lyrically dense, drawing influence from artists such as Bjork, St. Vincent, and Amanda Palmer. Band members Jenessa LaSota (bass/harmonies), John Acarregui (drums), and Tyler Phelps (guitar), join LaBiche to forge a soundscape inhabiting haunting vocal harmonies that flow over symphonic-like movements. Think classical training funneled through a divided electro / rock sensibility.