$8 in advance/$8 at the door

9pm doors/9:30pm showtime




Ted Olsen Quartet:


This show celebrates the groups debut record "Joyfire" being released on Shifting Paradigm records. The album features ten of Olsen's original compositions. Using a breadth of modern jazz influences it focuses on melodic and harmonic inventions within the framework of spontaneous group interplay.



The band is Ted Olsen-bass, Aaron Hedenstrom- saxophone, Javier Santiago- piano, and Miguel Hurtado- drumset.


Ted Olsen:


Ted Olsen is a bassist and composer based in Minneapolis, MN. As a bandleader his groups have been featured at the Twin Cities Jazz Festival, The Artists’ Quarter, and Icehouse in the Twin Cities. He has also performed at Nocturne Jazz Club in Denver, CO & Festival No Improviso in Curitiba, Brazil. In composition he won the 2012 Eric Stokes Song Contest held by the American Composers’ Forum. Additionally in 2015 he was a finalist in the ASCAP Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composers’ competition. As a sideman he is regularly enlisted by top Twin Cities jazz luminaries and has also branched out into working with artists from the folk, rock, R&B, and contemporary classical scenes.



Javier Santiago:


Javier Santiago is a former fellow at the Brubeck Institute and a 2016 McKnight Foundation grant recepient.



Aaron Hedenstrom:


Aaron Hedenstrom leads his own quartet and big band, and is the arranger/orchestrator for the New Standards.



Miguel Hurtado:


Miguel Hurtado is a top-call Twin Cities player in both the jazz and R&B genres.